Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards were founded in 1953 and named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the influential science fiction magazine, Amazing Stories. They are an annual awards event given at the World Science Fiction Convention. There are a number of categories including Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Graphic Novel and Best Dramatic Presentation (film). The Winners in these categories are below.

Best Novel

A Desolation Called PeaceArkady MartineTor2022
Network EffectMartha WellsTor2021
A Memory Called EmpireArkady MartineTor2020
The Calculating StarsMary Robinette KowalTor2019
The Stone SkyN. K. JemisinOrbit2018
The Obelisk GateN. K. JemisinOrbit2017
The Fifth SeasonN. K. JemisinOrbit2016
The Three Body ProblemCixin LiuTor2015
Ancillary JusticeAnn LeckieOrbit2014
RedshirtsJohn ScalziTor2013
Among OthersJo WaltonTor2012
Blackout/All ClearConnie WillisSpectra2011
The Windup Girl*Paulo BacigalupiNightshade2010
The City and the City*China MeivilleDel Rey2010
The Graveyard BookNeil GaimanHarperCollins2009
The Yiddish Policeman’s UnionMichael ChabonHarperCollins2008
Rainbows EndVernor VingeTor2007
SpinRobert Charles WilsonTor2006
Jonathan Strange & Mr NorrellSusanna ClarkeBloomsbury2005
Paladin of SoulsLois McMaster BujoldEos2004
HominidsRobert J SawyerAnalog2003
American GodsNeil GaimanWilliam Morrow2002
Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireJ. K. RowlingBloomsbury2001
A Deepness in the SkyVernor VingeTor2000
To Say Nothing of the DogConnie WillisBantam Spectra1999
Forever PeaceJoe HaldemanAce1998
Blue MarsKim Stanley RobinsonHarperCollins Voyager1997
The Diamond AgeNeal StephensonBantam Spectra1996
Mirror DanceLois McMaster BujoldBaen1995
Green MarsKim Stanley RobinsonHarperCollins1994
Doomsday Book*Connie WillisBantam Spectra1993
A Fire Upon the Deep*Vernor VingeTor1993
BarrayerLois McMaster BujoldAnalog1992
The Vor GameLois Mcmaster BujoldBaen1991
HyperionDan SimmonsDoubleday1990

© The Outlands Review